Preferential employers possibly hindering recessional growth

Is it possible that employers are practicing overwhelming levels of favoritism during one of the largest recessions in history?

I have reason to believe that I am the victim of a name bias.

Currently employed, I am looking for a new job that will allow me to continue school full-time during the Fall/Winter school year without forcing me to resort to waiting tables at night. I have a wonderful resume which includes Marketing, Editorial,  Administrative support, child/elderly care, retail and volunteer work accompanied by valuable skills. Not to be discounted is my extensive experience working in a corporate position as an Inventory Costing Analyst which encompasses a multitude of accounting, finance, administrative, production, sales and inventory tasks. In other words, I’m quite qualified for the Legal Assistant position that I applied to — one that required mostly administrative experience and little to no law experience.

“I would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your resume. However, I regret to inform you that we will not be able to offer you an interview for the position at this time.”Exactly what does this mean? Was my resume not good enough? Do I need experience in law? Should I have worded my cover letter differently? While it’s clear that the position has  not been filled, what’s more evident is this employer saw something in my resume which resulted in an ultimate rejection of my services. Furthermore, his response made me cringe at the thought of my ethnic name being a reflection of my work ethic and ability and the one factor that trumped my chance at being granted an interview.

Are employers looking at my resume and wondering if I have an accent? Do they question my gender or my age? Are they assuming thatLucknauth is the name of an inexperienced immigrant who will hinder the growth of their organization or do they believe Rishmawill not be able to communicate well with their clients resulting in a loss of revenue? Will I have to submit a YouTube supplement with every resume sent out to the cyber-job market to ensure employers that I’m as North American as they come? That I don’t have an accent, I won’t wear ethnic wear to the office and  I won’t  disrupt anyone with unusual olfaction disturbances? What is it about my name that convinces employers that I will not be an earnest reflection of their striving business?

While my name isn’t as ethnic sounding as many others out there, I cannot begin to imagine what struggles other job seekers have encountered on their path to employment.  What I do know is now is not the time to practice preference when reviewing possible employees. Let the resume and qualifications do the talking, not the name.

Leave a Reply

