Being Guyanese

So, a few days ago I wrote a piece about being Guyanese and my inability to determine my ethnicity on job applications as a result of its absence on census charts. But, I’m so proud to be Guyanese. I don’t come from the type of upbringing that most of you may assume that I do. My family is from the undeveloped world and from humble upbringings…like you won’t imagine. Simple dinners at 6pm to strengthen your body for a 4am wake-up call and a 5am field-alarm–get into the field, tend to your crops, make sure the livestock is nourished for the morning. Frankly, I love it. I’m not used to it, but I love it. You see, I’ve been away from that scene for quite a while, but when it reveals itself, I feel at home. I belong there. And I think it’s the most important part of my heritage. Holding steadfast to my upbringing–that of a Guyanese.

UPDATE TO FOLLOW WITH PICTURES….

Leave a Reply

